Chicago will receive federal aid to develop its manufacturing industry

The U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker announced the first 12 locations that will receive federal aid to develop their manufacturing industries. These areas have been designated Manufacturing Communities as part of the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership program. The 12 Manufacturing Communities are:

  • Southwest Alabama
  • Southern California
  • Northwest Georgia
  • Chicago metro region
  • South Kansas
  • Greater Portland region in Maine
  • Southeastern Michigan
  • New York Finger Lakes region
  • Southwestern Ohio Aerospace region
  • Tennessee Valley
  • Washington Puget Sound region
  • Milwaukee region

Each area earned the title of a Manufacturing Community because of its development strategies for manufacturing training, the workforce, research, infrastructure and site improvement, supply chain support, trade investment and operational improvements and capital access, according to a statement by the U.S. Economic Development Administration. 

The program has $1.3 billion available to aid these regions with their economic development strategies. Each Manufacturing Community will receive a federal liaison to guide their strategies and help them receive federal resources. The program will take effect in September, according to Chicago Business.

Businesses in Northern Illinois and Indiana should work with Chicago recruiters to find the most qualified workers for their open positions.